ExpressionEngine CMS
Open, Free, Amazing

Thread

This is an archived forum and the content is probably no longer relevant, but is provided here for posterity.

The active forums are here.

Moblog:Unable to connect to email server

December 28, 2010 6:49am

Subscribe [7]
  • #1 / Dec 28, 2010 6:49am

Niels Fassbender

18 posts

Hello,

My name is Niels, i’m a graphic designer from the Netherlands. I’m pretty new to EE but motivated to learn the system.
    I am currently working on my first site in EE, but I’m having some problems with the moblog module! I keep getting the message: Unable to connect to email server

I already tried different approaches, leads, forums and mail servers. but nothing seems to work.

I hope you can help me…

Grt, Niels

• #2 / Dec 28, 2010 11:02am

Sue Crocker

26054 posts

Welcome to the ExpressionEngine forums, Niels.

Since you’re new to the EE forums, have you seen EEWiki:// How to Post a Support Request?

What kind of email account are you attempting to use with your moblog? Is it gmail, or a something else?

Which version/build of EE1.x are you using? You can find that at the bottom of any control panel page.

• #3 / Dec 28, 2010 11:21am

Niels Fassbender

18 posts

Hello Sue,

I can use both my own pop3 and/or a gmail account. So it’s your call what to use best. currently i’ve set up the moblog account with my own (working) email adress: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). I use the latest version: v2.1.3 (installed it last week).

Grt

• #4 / Dec 28, 2010 3:57pm

Ingmar

29245 posts

I would suggest to use your own POP3 account, yes. What are you trying to do? Where exactly are you getting this error?

• #5 / Dec 28, 2010 5:28pm

Niels Fassbender

18 posts

When i click on “test moblog module” at the backend module moblog i get a scroll down at the top with the message:Unable to connect to email server