Bug #23573 Bug Fixed

it returns errors when i click Preview

Version: 4.2.0 Reporter: chunkitchris

I think I reported this bug before but it was fixed. However, since I have updated to 4.2 this bug is back again.

How I replicate: 1. Go to any channel entry, click “preview”; 2. the error messages are on the top of the page

Image: bug

  • Please provide the full steps to reproduce, including channel fields, what content is in them, and your relevant Channel Entries tag on the preview template.

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 4:39pm
  • Hi Derek, Before I updated to 4.2 it worked fine, once i updated to 4.2; and then i went to any channel entry (in this case, it is an entry from Event Channel) and then click “Preview” and the error messages appeared. https://www.dropbox.com/s/5ojg23xontmm73a/Screen%20Shot%202018-04-16%20at%204.30.35%20PM.png?dl=0

    this is the preview url:

    /event/view/{url_title}
    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 4:45pm
  • Let me clarify: please provide the steps necessary for someone else to reproduce your issue, such as on a clean install. You have not shared enough information to enable anyone to replicate your error.

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 4:50pm
  • Here are custom fields: Activate Registration? (toggle) ID# 79 / {activate_cta}

    Body (expresso) ID# 68 / {body}

    Call to Action (grid) ID# 80 / {call_to_action}

    Event Content (bloqs) ID# 66 / {event_content}

    Event Date (low events) ID# 49 / {event_date}

    Event Speakers (relationships) ID# 52 / {event_speakers}

    Fee (grid) ID# 77 / {fee}

    Form (freeform lite) ID# 81 / {form}

    Image (file) ID# 55 / {event_image}

    Note (textarea) ID# 78 / {note}

    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 4:55pm
  • Thanks for that, can you also share your full Channel Entries tag in a code block please? Thanks!

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 4:57pm
  • {exp:channel:entries
      channel="event"
      require_entry="yes"
      date="{segment_3}"
    }
    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 5:00pm
  • The opening tag doesn’t help much, please include your full tag, all of the template code and variables for this tag.

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 5:02pm
  • {!-- call in the template layout template you want to use
      Dynamic must be yes. Why?
      --}
    {layout="layout/_post-event" nav_location="events"}
    {exp:channel:entries
      channel="event"
      require_entry="yes"
      date="{segment_3}"
    }
    <!-- Breadcrumb Data Segment 1 -->
    {layout:set:append name='breadcrumb_urls'}{path='event'}{/layout:set:append}
    {layout:set:append name='breadcrumb_titles'}Events{/layout:set:append}
    <!-- Breadcrumb Data Segment 2 -->
    {layout:set:append name='breadcrumb_urls'}{url_title_path='event/view'}{/layout:set:append}
    {layout:set:append name='breadcrumb_titles'}{title}{/layout:set:append}
    <!-- Page Title -->
    {layout:set name="pg_title"}{title}{/layout:set}
    <!-- Start Date -->
    {layout:set name="post_date"}{event_date:start_date {lv_dateFormat}}{/layout:set}
    <!-- Entry Type -->
    {layout:set name="post_type"}{type:title}{/layout:set}
    <!-- Post Image -->
    {layout:set name="post_img-sm"}{event_image:small}{/layout:set}
    {layout:set name="post_img-med"}{event_image:medium}{/layout:set}
    {layout:set name="post_img-lg"}{event_image:large}{/layout:set}
    {layout:set name="post_img-xlg"}{event_image:x-large}{/layout:set}
    <!-- Post Body -->
    {layout:set name="post_body"}{body}{/layout:set}
    {/exp:channel:entries}
    
    
    
    <!-- Related Entries -->
    
    <div class="grid-x grid-margin-x">
    {exp:low_events:entries
      channel="event"
      limit="3"
      disable="category_fields|member_data|pagination|trackbacks"
      related_categories_mode="yes"
      custom_fields="yes"
    }
    
    {if no_results}
    <div class="cell">
    There are no upcoming related events.
    </div>
    {/if}
    
    <div class="medium-6 large-4 cell align-self-stretch">
      <div class="card">
        <a href="http://{title_permalink=%27event/view%27}" class="card-link"></a>
        <div class="card-image">
          {event_image}
        </div>
        <div class="card-section">
          {event_date:start_date}
          <h2>
          {title}
          </h2>
        </div>
      </div>
    </div>
    
    {/exp:low_events:entries}
    </div>
    
    <!-- Side Bar -->
    {layout:set name="sidebar"}
    {lv_event-meta}
    {lv_share}
    {lv_sidebar-quote}
    {/layout:set}
    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 5:04pm
  • Thanks; I do not see anything there that would call the :url variable modifier. Sounds like you need some help finding the source of your issue. It’s not possible that this was an old bug, that text modifier is brand new to 4.2.0. Please put in a support ticket and we can help you debug directly on your installation.

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 5:08pm
  • Hope this video help: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lrhsipacl8nm15y/ee-4_2-preview-bug.mov?dl=0

    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 5:12pm
  • Hi Derek, I think I know what happened. As in the Grid field, one of the field-names is “url” and it is the same as the new modifier name. That’s why it has the error messages

    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 5:43pm
  • Thanks for the extra details, Chris. Can you share the template code where you’re using that Grid column? I do not see it in your sample above.

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 7:19pm
  • Hi Derek, Sorry, I should have let you know that this is not a bug in my previous comment. It happened because I used

    :url

    as a custom field name in the Grid field. Once I changed it to

    website_url

    . no more error messages. Thanks very much.

    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 7:24pm
  • You should still be able to use a Grid column named url though. I’m just trying to see how you’re triggering that conflicting parser. Where did you use {call_to_action:url} in a template?

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 7:25pm
  • <!-- CTA -->
      {if activate_cta}
      {call_to_action}
      <div class="cta-container">
        <a href="http://{call_to_action:url}%22class=%22button" class="button large expanded cta" target="_blank" rel="noopener">{call_to_action:label}</a>
      </div>
      {/call_to_action}
      {/if}
    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 7:30pm
  • Thanks, that was the key.

    Derek Jones
    16th April, 2018 at 7:31pm
  • and now I change it to website_url and it works now

    <!-- CTA -->
      {if activate_cta}
      {call_to_action}
      <div class="cta-container">
        <a href="http://{call_to_action:website_url}%22class=%22button" class="button large expanded cta" target="_blank" rel="noopener">{call_to_action:label}</a>
      </div>
      {/call_to_action}
      {/if}
    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 7:34pm
  • The shortname in the Grid column must not be

    url

    it must be something else. In this case, it is

    website_url
    chunkitchris
    16th April, 2018 at 7:37pm

You must be signed in to comment on a bug report.

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

ExpressionEngine News!

#eecms, #events, #releases