ExpressionEngine CMS
Open, Free, Amazing

Thread

This is an archived forum and the content is probably no longer relevant, but is provided here for posterity.

The active forums are here.

Local dev version of EE 1.6.8 very slow

October 06, 2011 9:17am

Subscribe [6]
  • #1 / Oct 06, 2011 9:17am

studio-d

7 posts

Hi,

I am new to Expression Engine and am helping out on an Existing EE 1.6.8 install. I would like to run it locally and have been given a MAMP environment to develop on. I have the files and database locally but just viewing the home page takes almost 1 minute to load. I am also not able to log in to local.site/cms (it just hangs).

Machine is a Macbook Pro running Snow Leopard. Is there anything I can do to speed this up or is there a step I’ve missed?

The following modules are installed:

Query
    Rss 1.0
    Tk_rss_aggregator
    Pages
    Weblog
    SearchL
    Deeploy_helper
    Redirect_helper_lite
    Reeorder
    Tag 2.6.6

The development machine is also behind an http proxy. The PHP logs show that a magpie RSS plugin is trying to pull feeds and is unable to e.g.:

PHP Warning:  MagpieRSS: Failed to fetch http://<url of feed>&_render=rss. (HTTP Error: connection failed (6) in //plugins/pi.magpie.php on line 1390

• #2 / Oct 06, 2011 10:44pm

Marcus Neto

1005 posts

Studio-d,

Can you tell me if the Control Panel is also slow?

And can you turn on Template Debugging?

admin->system administration->output and debugging and turn template debugging to yes.

Now go back to the home page and check the load times that are showing up at the bottom of the page. Anything look out of the ordinary?

• #3 / Oct 07, 2011 5:20am

studio-d

7 posts