Bug #23470 Clarification Requested

Member entries removed when they are deleted from EE

Version: 3.5.14 Reporter: cpsadministrator

This is an archived bug report. If you are experiencing a similar issue, upgrade to the latest release and if that does not solve the problem, submit a new bug report

Hi,

I am running v. 3.5.15 in MSM mode. When I attempt to remove a member from EE and re-assign their entries to another user, the entries they are associated with are removed from the database. There is no error message, only a success message that informs you that the update was successful.

For now, I am just changing the user’s password and leaving them in the database which is less than ideal. Perhaps this isn’t an issue in v4, but we aren’t in a position to upgrade yet.

Let me know if you are able to reproduce this at your end.

Thanks,

Rob

  • Can you confirm which version of ExpressionEngine you are running? Your reported version and version you reference in your first sentence differ, and this sounds like a bug that was fixed in 3.5.15, and in fact is the only reason that version was released.

    Derek Jones
    12th February, 2018 at 3:08pm
  • I’m running 3.5.15 but didn’t have the option to choose that when I submitted the ticket.

    cpsadministrator
    12th February, 2018 at 3:26pm
  • 3.5.15 is the 3rd option available; version numbers are sorted by date of release since that’s the most relevant to bug reporters, so it’s not grouped with other v3 versions.

    Can you provide the steps to reproduce on 3.5.15? Please walk me through the exact steps you are taking, and what happens along the way, including selected values of any form fields, contents of modal confirmations, etc. Thanks!

    Derek Jones
    12th February, 2018 at 3:50pm
  • Hi Derek,

    Sorry I was a bit slow to respond. Here is what happens.

    1. I navigate to the members profile in the CP and select Delete {name} in left hand menu

    2. A modal opens to confirm that I want to remove the member. It gives me the option to re-assign the entries.

    3. I select reassign the member’s entries to …

    4. I click on the confirm and remove button and moments later, EE displays a message telling me that the members entries have been deleted. The actual text is “Member deleted”.

    Everything seems to have worked ok from within the control panel but what has actually happened is all of the entries that they created have been deleted as well. I have been able to reproduce this multiple times both on dev and in production.

    cpsadministrator
    16th February, 2018 at 1:46pm
  • That should just be member deleted in step 4.

    cpsadministrator
    16th February, 2018 at 1:47pm
  • In step 3, are you selecting a new member to assign the entries to?

    Derek Jones
    16th February, 2018 at 1:49pm
  • Yup

    cpsadministrator
    16th February, 2018 at 1:50pm
  • I can’t replicate. Prior to 3.5.15 you could submit that form without selecting an heir for the entries, which would leave them orphaned (but still in the database). 3.5.15 fixed that and requires a valid author to be selected.

    Can you submit a ticket to support@expressionengine.com with login and FTP details provided securely with HelpSpot Vault so we can test in your environment? We can create a new user and new dummy entries to test with so we aren’t disturbing your production data.

    Derek Jones
    16th February, 2018 at 1:52pm
  • Ok, thanks. Will get this to you shortly.

    cpsadministrator
    16th February, 2018 at 1:54pm
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

ExpressionEngine News!

#eecms, #events, #releases